Shama Kabani – The President of The Marketing Zen Group

In Her Own Words..

I started my first business when I was 9 years old. It was a gift wrap selling business, and I used to spend hours flipping through the catalog and feeling the silky samples. I could tell azure blue from shocking red with my eyes closed. The business was a flop, but I learned three important lessons.

1. Never hire your six year old sister as your assistant-even if she works for candy.
2. Don’t make sales calls using the Yellow Pages.
3. Your parents will only buy so much gift wrap before their customer satisfaction level drops.

The lessons didn’t exactly stop there. I went on to start and build 3 successful businesses, but nothing was greater than the thrill of marketing them online. What most people hated or didn’t understand (marketing), I loved. Go figure.

Since launching The Marketing Zen Group (formerly known as Click To Client), I have helped dozens of companies leverage the internet to attract more clients and increase profits. These days you can find me on the national speaking circuit (…speaking about online marketing and social media marketing), on Twitter, and on Facebook. And of course, working with our FABULOUS clients from my office in Dallas, Texas.

In my free time, I enjoy working (no, really, I am addicted to my work!), spending time with my family (this includes my puppy, Snoopy, a.k.a. the office mascot), reading (I read a few books a week, I am not joking), and watching movies.

 

The BioGraphy Shama Kabani is the President of The Marketing Zen Group, a full service online marketing firm that serves clients around the world. She has been dubbed the “master millennial of the universe” and “an online marketing shaman” by Fast Company. She has aptly been named one of the 10 Most Influential and Powerful Women in Social Media

Shama holds a Masters degree in Organizational Communication from the University of Texas at Austin, and prides herself in being a constant learner. Her website, http://www.MarketingZen.com has turned into a high traffic destination for people looking for advice on how to market  their businesses successfully online. And, and companies often turn to Shama to guide them when it comes to the vast world of social media marketing. She also hosts a popular web TV show on new media marketing at http://Shama.Tv, and the media regularly call on her to comment on marketing and technology trends. In 2009, Business Week honored Shama as one of the Top 25 under 25 entrepreneurs in North America. Her first book, The Zen of Social Media Marketing (BenBella Books), is due out in the Spring of 2010.

Source: Marketing Zen

About Ahmad Ladhani

Teacher, an Accountant and a student :)
This entry was posted in Ismailis On Front. Bookmark the permalink.